News items

Call for TIM Emerging Scholar Award Nominations

The Technology and Innovation Management Division (TIM) of the Academy of Management seeks nominations for the “PAST CHAIRS EMERGING SCHOLAR AWARD.” This award is given annually to an emerging scholar who has already achieved a solid publication record and whose scholarly contributions show exceptional quality and great promise of becoming influential in the area of technology and innovation management. The winner is selected by a committee comprised of past TIM Division Chairs.

Who is eligible: Any scholar within 7 years of obtaining their Ph.D. degree (i.e. completed their Ph.D. after 8/1/2010).

How Can You Nominate Someone: Send an email to Keld Laursen, TIM Chair, ( with a short note explaining the reasons for your nomination and either an attachment with the nominee’s CV or a URL link to it.

Deadline for nominations: March 31, 2017


Keld Laursen
TIM Division Chair

TIM Bylaws Approved

The proposed changes to the division’s bylaws by the TIM Executive have been approved by the members of the division. The vote ended January 31. Our final participation was 11% of members voting (historically, the participation rate has ranged between 6-12%), and all issues passed with majority approval — far above the required 2/3 majority for each of the four major issues.

The most significant changes affect our election procedures, including composition of the Nominating Committee, tenure of elective office, and new procedures for filling positions that become vacant between elections. Additional changes to the Bylaws reflect minor alterations meant to clarify committee structure, while also generally updating language and practices to align with current Academy of Management recommendations and standards.

Thanks to the members who took part in the vote.


Keld Laursen

TIM Division Chair

Call for 2017 TIM Best Dissertation Award Submissions

Abstract Submission Deadline: February 15, 2017

The TIM Division of the Academy of Management is pleased to invite submissions for the 2017 TIM Best Dissertation Award. We will accept submissions based on doctoral dissertations completed during calendar years 2015 and 2016.

We take a broad perspective on technology and innovation including aspects of the emergence, diffusion, adoption, commercialization, evolution and consequences of technologies and innovations. The TIM Division’s domain statement can be found at As per the domain statement, we welcome dissertations from different disciplinary perspectives including management (strategy, organization theory, organizational behavior etc.) as well as economics, technology studies, sociology, etc. We are also happy to consider a broad range of methodologies.

The award process involves two stages. In the first stage, each applicant submits a 5-page dissertation abstract (see details below) along with supporting references and figures. A committee of experienced scholars then selects the finalists. In the second stage, finalists are invited to submit a 30-page manuscript based upon their dissertation. The committee reviews these manuscripts, provides feedback, and selects the best dissertation, which will be announced at the 2017 Annual Academy of Management Meeting in Atlanta.

Finalists will be invited to present their work at a dedicated session during the conference, when the winner will be announced. The session will afford high visibility to the finalists’ dissertations.

Submission Requirements:

• Submit one copy of the first-stage award submission electronically to Jason Davis ( with the subject “TIM Dissertation Award Submission” by February 15, 2017.

• Your submission should include two files: (1) a cover page and (2) your dissertation abstract (which includes text summary, references, and supporting materials). Please use your last name in naming the files as Lastname-file1.doc and Lastname-file2.doc. File names will be changed after receipt to provide anonymity.

• In the first file, the cover page should include the following information:

1. Dissertation title

2. Author's name

3. Dissertation completion date

4. Author's degree-granting school

5. Author's dissertation committee with the principal advisor(s) and other roles and their affiliations clearly identified

6. Author's current affiliation information (affiliation(s), job title(s), corresponding address, telephone, fax, and email)

7. Up to five keywords that describe the main theme(s) of the dissertation

This should be the only page to include identifying author, school, and committee information.

• In the second file, the dissertation abstract must follow these requirements:

1. Five page limit for the text summarizing the dissertation’s contents

2. One inch margins

3. Times New Roman or equivalent font – no smaller than 12 point

4. Double-spaced text

5. The text should have page numbers starting with "1"

6. The dissertation title should be on page "1" and may be single spaced

• You may include up to five pages of references that may be single-spaced. These do not count towards the page limit for the text of the dissertation abstract.

• You may include up to five pages of supporting materials (tables, figures, appendices, etc.) beyond the text summary and the references.

• Do not submit a complete dissertation. Finalists will be asked to submit a manuscript of up to 30 pages subsequently.

• Be sure to remove any material in the abstract or references that may identify you as author, for example a series of working papers you have authored or reference to the dissertation itself.

• Submissions should be made in .docx format.

• The award is meant for Ph.D. or equivalent doctoral theses. If you have any question about eligibility, please contact the Dissertation Award Co-Chairs well in advance of the deadline for abstract submission.

 • Please note that late submissions or submissions that do not follow these requirements will not be considered, as the integrity of the reviewing process depends on consistency across submissions. If you have questions concerning these requirements, please contact one of the co-chairs.

Dissertation Award Co-Chairs:

Jason Davis, INSEAD

Marcel Bogers, University of Copenhagen, Denmark


Follow Us